top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnna Tichenor

Weekday Spaghetti

Updated: Oct 13, 2021

Picture this: it's a Tuesday night and the family's hungry. Maybe your brother wants to order pizza, or your dad suggested canned soup for dinner. You want something hearty, filling, easy to make, and maybe some leftovers too.

For years, this spaghetti recipe has remained a staple in my family. My dad calls it "one pound pasta" but I'm calling it "Weekday Spaghetti" because I don't think I've ever eaten it on a weekend. It only uses one pot, you can use any kind of pasta, sauce, or meat you'd like, and you can add any additional ingredients you want. Have a hunk of mozzarella you need to use? Throw it in! Make it yours.


Below is a downloadable PDF for easier recipe access.




Ingredients

1 lb. (16 oz) Spaghetti

1 lb. (16 oz) ground, defrosted meat of your choice

1 lb. (16 oz) your favorite marinara sauce

Salt & Pepper

Sun Dried Tomatoes (Optional)

Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto (Optional)

Parmesan (Optional...but is it really?)


  1. Bring a pot of water to boil. Be sure to salt your water after it starts boiling.

  2. Boil your spaghetti for ten minutes. Once al dente, strain.

  3. Begin cooking your meat. I prefer cooking spaghetti in a Dutch oven. This way I know it will hold all my spaghetti, and I can cook my meat & sauce in it together.

  4. Once meat has finished cooking, add sauce and pesto. Bring to a light simmer.

  5. Taste test your sauce to make sure it's perfect, and then add in your cooked pasta.

  6. Top with pepper, parmesan, and sun-dried tomatoes. Serve with buttered bread.

コメント


bottom of page