top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnna Tichenor

Cherry Berry Pie

Updated: Oct 13, 2021

As you'll remember from the last post, I really don't mind if you want to skip my pre-recipe ramblings. However, if you'd like to read my ramblings, then you're probably my dad. Hi dad! If your name is not Andy Tichenor, I'll forgive you for scrolling. But if you did scroll, how would you know that I only created this recipe to use cans of jellied cranberry sauce we had from last thanksgiving? (It actually may have been two thanksgivings ago, I just know it's been in our cupboard for FAR too long).

This pie was a happy accident. I love pie (Have you seen Waitress? You'll love pie too), I love cream cheese, I love cranberries, and I love streusel (specifically on a blueberry streusel muffin, recipe coming soon!). I had two cans of jellied cranberry sauce, a can of cherries, and a pyrex pie pan I needed to return to a friend. Once I had the idea to return the pie pan with a pie, I was on a roll from there.

I used three different recipes for reference (Apple and Cranberry Sauce Pie, No-Bake Cranberry Sauce Pie, Cranberry Streusel Pie) and typed up my own recipe. The great thing about this recipe is how versatile it is. Don't have cherries? Use blackberries! Don't want to make a lattice design? Just use the streusel, or don't use a topping at all! It's going to turn out delicious no matter what.

The pie crust is honestly the trickiest part of this recipe. I added cold butter (straight from the fridge) into a food processor with flour and mix until it's pebbly, then add the cold water until it forms a dough. I was afraid the processor would over-mix it but, honestly, it was perfect. Maybe not technically, but there were no complaints in my house. And, for a first try pie, I think it's a recipe worth sharing. PS, if you don't have the energy or willpower to make your own crust, store-bought is fine! I won't tell ;)


Below is a PDF version of the recipe for easy access. If you're interested in more recipes, remember to sign up for my email list and follow me on Facebook!



Prep Time: 45 Minutes Bake Time: 45 Minutes Total Time: 1 Hour 30 Minutes


Ingredients

2/3 cup & 1 tablespoon butter

6 tablespoons ice water

2 & 1⁄2 cups flour 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 1 can jellied cranberry sauce

1 can unsweetened pitted cherries 1/3 cup sugar 1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese

1 cup confectioners’ sugar 1⁄2 cup packed brown sugar

1 teaspoon shortening


  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

  2. Cut 2/3 cup of cold butter into 2 1⁄4 cups flour. When pebbly, add cold water and mix until clumpy, careful not to overmix. I do this process in a food processor, but a mixer will work as well. Use hands to form a soft dough and separate into two balls, one larger than the other.

  3. On a floured surface, roll out larger dough ball into a circle that is slightly larger than your pie pan. Place in pie pan, prick sides and bottom with fork.

  4. Blind bake your pie crust for 5-8 minutes.

  5. Beat together cream cheese, 1 tbsp butter, and vanilla extract until smooth and fluffy. Add confectioners’ sugar and mix. Spread evenly over bottom of pie crust.

  6. Mix cranberry sauce, 1/3 cup granulated sugar, and cherries. Pour over cream cheese mixture.

  7. On a floured surface, roll second ball of dough into a rectangle. Cut dough into strips and place on top of pie in a lattice design.

  8. In a separate bowl, mix brown sugar, 1⁄4 cup flour, and shortening until crumbly. Pour streusel evenly over pie.

  9. Bake for 50 minutes until crust is golden brown and streusel is caramelized.


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page